the love of history

My favorite subjects in school were history and literature.  Since I can’t add two and two, anything connected with Math (logic?) was way down my Interest List.  Although of course, it was necessary to take these courses.

History is even more interesting when one’s ancestor/family is somehow involved in the stories.  My father had a Cherokee background and naturally, once I discovered this (years after his death when I was going through his effects after my mother died), I was off and running.  In the items my mother had saved that were father’s was a check stub for an allotment from the Eastern Cherokee Nation and although neither my mother nor father ever mentioned my dad’s American Indian heritage, I began the search.

This research was pre-internet and I did a lot of writing to state archives, visited a great many libraries and corresponded with newly found Cherokee relatives in the attempt to learn more about my Cherokee heritage.  I amassed a great deal of information because his Foreman (Scottish-Cherokee)  ancestors were prominent in Cherokee politics and my father was on the Eastern Cherokee Rolls.  Genealogy research in some of my other families has not been that easy.

All of this to explain why Stanley W. Hoig’s book, The Cherokees and Their Chiefs In the Wake of Empire has a place on a bookshelf in our library.

Principal Chief Dennis Wolf Bushyhead was my ancestor’s brother-in-law.  My ancestor, Richard Bark Foreman, published a book about medicine (wish I had a copy of that book).

From Hoig’s book:

Twenty-four-year-old Dennis Bushyhead, son of the Cherokee chief justice, was a member of the 1849 caravan.  He would remain in California for nineteen years before returning, eventually to be elected as a principal chief of the Cherokee Nation.  His older brother, Edward W., would follow him to California with another Cherokee gold rush party in 1850, becoming a prosperous newspaper editor and publisher in San Diego as well as sheriff of San Diego County.

Leave a Reply

