the love of books (and things lost in the flood)

From the age of about twelve until 1998, I would write down quotations from books that meant something to me.  I had several card files of these sayings – that I would now and then draw upon – for a project, for a speech . . . for comfort and insight and wisdom.  My Old Flood Story: all of these note cards (some in metal card files and some in spiral notebooks) rushed down Geronimo Creek to – where ??

In Tolstoy and the Purple Chair, Nina Sankovitch writes lovingly about books and about wisdom from books.

When I was in high school, I began keeping a journal of favorite quotations from books.  The purpose of the journal was to act as a vault.  I wanted to save the words whispered in my ears by beloved authors, and store them up for the day when I would need to hear them again.  As much as they had inspired me when I first read them, I could turn to them when needed and rekindle the inspiration.  I hoped back then that by following the words, I would become stronger, wiser, braver, and kinder.  The quotes I saved in my journal were the proof of, as well as guidance for, how I would meet any challenge and overcome all difficulties.

 

Julie Kalm (author of You Had Me at Woof) writes about Sankovitch’s novel:

Tolstoy and the Purple Chair will transport you to a time before texts and tweets.  Through the stories of her own family, Nina Sankovitch shows how books have the power to refresh, renew, and even heal us.  I loved this memoir.”

Leave a Reply

