another list

Everyone’s taste in reading differs, I suppose.  While reading Nina Sankovitch’s Tolstoy and the Purple Chair, I was surprised to note that she did not really like The Bridges of Madison County. Until I read her comment about The Bridges, I thought I was probably the only person in the Reading World who didn’t like the book.  In addition, books  that others have raved about just leave me cold and I began making a mental list of books I truly did not like and which everyone I knew DID.

My No-Like List (a partial list)

  1. the Left Behind series (admittedly, I only began reading the first one and realized I had no interest in reading further)
  2. The Shack
  3. The Bridges of Madison County
  4. most ‘Romance’ novels (I know I know – Rebecca by Daphne Du Maurier has been classified as a Romance novel by some – and I loved that book)

Just some meandering thoughts  about books; if you want a Good Read, do read Tolstoy and the Purple Chair.

Send me a note about books that you think are worth reading; I’m always looking!

Visit Nina Sankovitch’s Read All Day site!

2 thoughts on “another list

  1. O frabjous day! Callooh! Callay! A kindred spirit! The Bridges of Madison County is absolutely the worst book I’ve ever read. Confession: I haven’t read the Left Behind series or The Shack. As for Rebecca, I don’t consider that a romance. Du Maurier said it was a study in jealousy, and I take her word for it.

  2. Kathy, I think we are in the minority (but in good company – such as Nina Sankovitch) regarding The Bridges of Madison County.

    Ah – I didn’t consider Rebecca a romance, either.

    One of my book clubs classified Rebecca as a romance novel when I mentioned that romance novels really aren’t my ‘cup of tea’ and I didn’t think Rebecca was a ‘romance novel’ – but whatever category one puts Rebecca, it was great writing.

Leave a Reply

