snippets from books

 

Maybe when you read this you’ll wonder why I didn’t just do the right thing and tell her the truth.  Believe me, it’s not like the idea hadn’t crossed my mind.  But having a clearer conscience wasn’t worth getting us sued and maybe going to jail.  When I thought about what my confessing would do to you and your mom, that was all the reason I needed to keep quiet.

And yet.  The point here is to be completely honest.  I have to admit that even without you, I’d probably still have found an excuse to keep covering up what I’d done.  I wanted to do right, but the price was just too high.

Leave a Reply

