The Dry Grass of August

The Dry Grass of August by Anna Jean Mayhew was one of the best books I’ve read recently.

Snippet/Teaser from the book:

“You know those signs we keep seeing, ‘No Browns in Our Schools’?”

“I know about that.”

“That’s because of Brown versus Board of Education,” Stell said.  I’d never thought to ask her.

“That’s it,” said Mary.  “But I s’pect your mama’s right.  Won’t see Negro children going to school with white children here.  Not for a while.  But it’ll happen.  Just people needs to register, vote.  Take time, but we do it.”

She meant her people, not us.

2 thoughts on “The Dry Grass of August

  1. Thank you so much for featuring my book on your blog! And you chose a wonderful snippet to share with folks, and (I hope) entice others to read it. I’m just home from a mini-vacation (four days at the beach with daughter, g-daughter, sister) and it was wonderful to see your lovely post when I opened my email…thank you, thank you!!

    • Thank you! – for such a delightful book. I borrowed your excellent novel from our local library – but of course – want a copy for my personal library; this is a book I would like to read over and over again.

Leave a Reply

